Hi, I wrote this article out of concern about the reported discrimination of the gay community by medics in Kenya at a time when homosexuality was highly taboo in the country. As you can see the piece was published on the worst day ever, a Dec 24th, when obviously very few people would be buying the paper. This further speaks to the stigma surrounding the issue though ironically the media house sponsored my writing for instance by paying for my travel from Nairobi to Mombasa where I did most of the interviews. The piece wasn’t a moral debate on homosexuality but rather advocacy for equal health access in spite of the patient’s sexual orientation. Doctors after all do take an oath to ‘do no harm.’ I have to admit though that I don’t know if there has been any follow up to this story to see if the trend has changed. That would be a great story.

Kenyan Homosexuals 1Kenyan Homosexuals 2

